History of Daniel's Funeral Home and Cremation Service
Daniel’s Funeral Home is now in its second century of service, having been established in 1895 when Hanks Furniture and Undertaking Co. was founded. In 1913, the name changed to Daniel Furniture and Undertaking. The dual furniture and undertaking business continued until 1929 when new facilities were acquired on Second Avenue, moving the firm from Broad Street.
In 1926, Mather Daniel, Sr., was joined in the business by his son, Mather Daniel, Jr., and the name of the funeral home was changed to Daniel and Son. The Daniel family established a tradition of quality, compassionate service, which was always performed with dignity and professionalism. In 1956, the funeral home moved to its present location at 901 East Second Avenue. Since that time, several renovations have taken place enhancing the beauty of the facility and providing better access and accommodations for families.
Thomas B. Griffin came to Rome, Georgia, in 1947, and became a partner with Mr. Daniel in 1962. Upon Mr. Daniel’s death in 1973, Mr. Griffin became president and owned the funeral home until December 1988. Now, in its second century of service, Daniel’s continues its proud tradition of service to Rome and its families. Everyone at Daniel’s is proud to uphold this rich heritage and devoted commitment to the Rome community.
Today, we are proud to be a part of the Dignity Memorial® network of funeral, cremation and cemetery providers.