On September 5, 1946, Elmer R. “Dick” Yarington opened the doors of his White Center Funeral Home with the hope, determination and desire to support people in need. He and his wife, Mary Frances Yarington, offered both their business and their home to the community for comfort and support during life’s most difficult times.
The growth of the business came naturally through Frances’ experience in teaching and nursing as she supported the caregivers in the community, and Dick’s engaging and effortless ability to serve and comfort those who grieved. Soon, the couple added another funeral home, cemetery and mausoleum to their family business which greatly expanded the availability of services they could offer.
Through the years, the Yarington name became synonymous with compassionate care, reasonable prices and the simple truth that no family had ever been turned away for lack of funds. Because Dick and Frances were so well known in the White Center area and surrounding neighborhoods, the business was renamed to Yarington’s White Center Funeral Home.
Dick and Frances Yarington renovated the existing building on 16th
Avenue many times to better accommodate the needs of the families they served. Growing from a small chapel to the current multi-use facility featuring reception accommodations, well-appointed and modern amenities and comforting public areas, the funeral home remains a well-trusted place of comfort and solace.
Now more than six decades later, families are still met with the same compassion and personalized service for which we have become known. Although Dick and Frances Yarington are no longer with us, their legacy lives on. Today, the staff at Yarington’s White Center Funeral Home takes great pride in continuing the example set by the Yaringtons’ uncompromising service and commitment to their community.