×

McEwen Funeral Service-Pineville Chapel

10500 Park Road, Charlotte, NC

OBITUARY

Avis S Lanier

August 12, 1932November 26, 2019

Avis Sybillae Lanier, born August 12, 1932 in Horry County, SC, passed away after a brief illness on November 26, 2019.

Avis is survived by her four sons, Garry Cribb, Ronald Cribb (Johnsie), Terry Lanier (Lisa Tackett), Dan Lanier (Jayne); and five grandchildren and ten great-grandchildren. She was preceded in death by her mother Effie Collins, husbands Paul Cribb and Bill Lanier, and daughter Denise Lanier.

Avis worked as a hosiery inspector at Chadburn Mills, while Garry and Ron were young and Effie cared for them. Avis later worked as a bookkeeper for Bill’s business, Mobile Equipment Company.

Avis and Bill were passionate about their work with the Gideon’s and about their church home, Lake Wylie Baptist Church.

The family would like to thank the staff and residents of Lake Wylie Senior Living for their love and care over the last two years. They would also like to thank her Sunday School class and friends at Lake Wylie Baptist Church, as well as her Gideon’s family, for their friendship and prayers.

Services will include a visitation Friday, November 29, from 3:30 - 5 pm at McEwen Pineville Chapel, 10500 Park Road, Charlotte, NC. A Celebration and reception will be at Lake Wylie Baptist Church on Saturday, November 30, at 12:30 pm. The church address is 16105 Grand Palisades Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28278.

In lieu of flowers, please consider a gift to Lake Wylie Baptist Church or the Gideon’s Charlotte Southwest Camp.

On-line condolences may be made at www.mcewenpinevillechapel.com

Services

  • Visitation Friday, November 29, 2019
  • Memorial Service Saturday, November 30, 2019

Memories

Avis S Lanier

have a memory or condolence to add?

ADD A MEMORY
PAtricia Reeves

November 30, 2019

Miss Avis was so sweet to me when I met her, year’s ago. I know she was loved by so many. May God wrap her in his arms and bless her soul. For she was a wonderful woman.
Patty Reeves

Louise Robinson

November 30, 2019

Dan and Jayne, I have such warm and friendly memories of your Mom. She was a thoughtful person. A gift to know and remember her. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this sad time.

Louise

Phillip’s Gran

Betty Small Birchmore-Woods

November 29, 2019

So sorry to hear of cousin Sybillae’s passing. I have such fond memories of her growing up in the same area and am glad that I was able to connect with her by telephone over the last few years. I regret that I will be working and not able to come to the services. You all will be in my thoughts and prayers. Betty

lynn cranfield

November 27, 2019

Dan & family, I was sad to hear of Avis passing but I know shes happy and what a reunion she had. Avis was such a kind and gentle lady and I will forever be grateful for her friendship. I will never forget the time I went with Avis to her senior luncheon. A lady ask if I was her granddaughter and Avis replied no she's a friend. The lady then asked so how do you know each other and Avis replied she's in my Sunday school class. And then the lady stated "my that's such a big age difference". Avis stated well no we have all ages in there. Avis was always direct. lol
Thank you Avis for being my friend and I will see you again.
Love you always,
Lynn Cranfield

FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY