OBITUARY

Avis Lambert

August 26, 1933January 3, 2019

NORWICH - Avis L Lambert 85, beloved wife of the late Henri “Moe” Lambert, passed away peacefully at her home on January 3, 2019 with her daughter by her side. Avis was born in Norwich, on August 26, 1933 to the late Durward and Elsie (Shermerhorn) Llewellyn and graduated from Norwich Free Academy in 1951. After graduation she went to work in the office at the American Thermos Bottle Company. On October 24, 1953 Avis was united in marriage to Henri Lambert at Christ Episcopal Church of Norwich, and were married for 62 years before Henri’s passing on May 26, 2016. She worked in the office at Durables of Norwich, Atlas Builders in Franklin and then Norwich Free Academy in the Accounting Dept. until her retirement.

Avis is survived by 2 children, 3 grandchildren and 1 great grandson. Daughter and son-in-law, Debra and Timothy Duch of Norwich, Son and daughter-in-law, David and Heather Lambert of Berlin, MA. Grandchildren, Christopher Jackson of Charleston, South Carolina, Kara Lambert, April Osheroff Lambert and husband Zack of Roslindale, MA, and their son Arlo MacLeod Osheroff Lambert. She is also survived by her nephew Richard Joray of Norwich, and was predeceased by her sister Dorothy Joray, and nephew John Joray.

The family would like to give a huge thanks to Yvette Marin and Cynthia Phillips, from Assured Quality Homecare of Norwich, for the special care they provided our mom over the last couple years, which enabled her to remain in her home. They became part of the family and we would have been lost without their help. Hospice was also very integral in her last few months, and very much appreciated.

A Funeral Service will be held Friday at Christ Episcopal Church, 78 Washington St. at 11 AM. Burial will follow at Maplewood Cemetery. In lieu of flowers donations may be made to The Alzheimer’s Association (alz.org) or Hospice of SE CT, 227 Dunham St., Norwich, CT 06360.

To leave a message of condolence for Avis’ family, please visit her memorial at www.labenskifuneralhome.com.

Services

PREVIOUS SERVICES:

  • Funeral Service Friday, January 11, 2019
  • Interment Friday, January 11, 2019

OTHER SERVICES:

  • There Are No Calling Hours
REMEMBERING

Avis Lambert

have a memory or condolence to add?

ADD A MEMORY
Peg Schaeffer

January 11, 2019

Aunt Avis and Uncle Moe were a big part of my life growing up. Debbie, David, and I spent many a summer together. Friday nights, like clockwork, Avis and Moe would come and visit my mother for coffee and cake, and when we moved to Lisbon, the visits continued. My mother always looked forward to them visiting. My favorite memory was watching them dance. Now Aunt Avis and Uncle Moe are together again, doing their fancy footsteps. And on Friday nights they can have coffee and cake with my Mom.

Donna Chieka

January 10, 2019

My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family .. love Donna & Harold .

Linda Mott

January 9, 2019

Dave and Deb and families... so sorry to hear that your Mom has died. Hugs and blessings!

FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY