IN THE CARE OF

×

East Funeral Home

OBITUARY

Avis Irene Whittington

September 3, 1932October 9, 2020
Play Tribute Movie

Avis Irene Whittington, 88, of Fouke, AR. passed away on Friday, October 9, 2020. She was born on September 3, 1932 in Fouke, AR. She is a member of Sanctuary of Hope Church in Fouke, AR. where she loved attending. She enjoyed working in the clothing ministry and food pantry at church. She loved working in her yard and watching all the beautiful birds. One of her other cherished passions was singing hymns with her family.

Preceded in death by her mother and father Charles and Irene Hendrix; brothers Dale Hendrix, David Hendrix and Daughter Jacquelyn Foster. Her husband William Whittington.

Survived by four daughter and sons-in-law Marilyn Gee, Gwen and Bob Bain, Shar and Bob Henry and Gaylyn and Mike Spanhanks; son and daughter-n-law Hank and Kay Foster; sister June Kinney, two brothers Chuck and Dean Hendrix. 13 grandchildren Michael, Meredith, Amanda, Natalie, Valorie, Curtis, Brett, Jeremy, Justin, Clifford, Eric, Heather and Sedina; 27 great-grandchildren.

Funeral service will be 2:00 P.M. Monday, October 12, 2020 at Sanctuary of Hope Church in Fouke, AR. officiated by Revs. Jonathan Stanley and Robbie Jansen

Come and go visitation will be Sunday from 1 to 5 P.M. at East Funeral Home-Downtown.

For those who cannot attend the church service may watch a live stream at East Funeral Home Facebook.

Condolences may be left at www.eastfuneralhomes.com

  • PALLBEARERS

  • Curtis Bain
  • Brett Bain
  • Justin Henry
  • Jeremy Henry
  • Eric Foster
  • Clifford Foster

Services

  • Come and go visitation

    Sunday, October 11, 2020

  • Funeral Service

    Monday, October 12, 2020

    VIEW VIDEO

  • Burial

    Monday, October 12, 2020

Memories

Avis Irene Whittington

have a memory or condolence to add?

ADD A MEMORY
Johnny and Dot Brown

October 11, 2020

Avis was a beautiful woman, inside and out. I remember the days when she, June and their Mama Aunt Irene would come to my house and we would have the whole clan over playing music and singing." They were the good old days"

Cathy (Hendrix) Dorsey

October 10, 2020

It was always wonderful to visit Aunt Avis. She was loving and kind.

Sending my condolences to my family. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

Rhonda Hendrix

October 10, 2020

Aunt Avis was a “picture” of Happy. Even after her first devastating surgery, she embraced it, and kept on living. I have only had her as “aunt” a few 32 years; but she will ALWAYS be special to me.
Rhonda Hendrix

Gaylyn Spanhanks

October 10, 2020

Bobby Hendrix

October 10, 2020

I will always cherish the wonderful times I have spent with my sweet Aunt Avis. Every time we got to be together, she had such a wonderful ability, to let me know how much she loved me. Not matter how long it had been between visits we could seemingly pick up right where we left off, before. My most cherished memories are just getting to visit, sing and laugh with her!! She always made me feel extra special and I loved her so much!! I know we will meet again in Heaven before too long!!! Love and prayers

Joan Spanhanks

October 9, 2020

I remember that she smiled alot, and had a warm loving heart.

Sharon Copeland

October 9, 2020

I remember her always laughing, always loving everyone, loved to here her sing.

FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY

Mother and Cutter the Nurse

FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY

Mother and Cutter the Nurse

FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY

Around 1961 in front of Victoria Tabernacle, KCK

Learn more about the Whittington name

VISIT ANCESTRY.COM