×

Leppert Mortuaries - Nora

740 East 86th St, Indianapolis, IN

OBITUARY

Avis Hummel Skinner

December 11, 1931July 13, 2020

Avis Hummel Skinner, 88, passed away suddenly on Monday July 13th, 2020. Avis was a kind woman of quiet strength, persevering well through many challenges in her life; a loving wife, mother, grandmother and great-grandmother who cared for and served her family faithfully to the end. Born December 11, 1931, Avis was raised in Millburn, N.J. and attended Penn State University where she was a member of Delta Gamma Sorority and Omicron Nu Honorary. Avis received a B.S. at Indiana University in 1952. There she met Bob Skinner, married December 20, 1953, and enjoyed 52 years of marriage. Avis was a 50-year member of the Children's Museum Guild having served as the 5th Haunted House Co-Chairman in 1968 and later, the Treasurer of the Guild. She was an officer of the Jayncees, a Lifetime Member of People of Vision, a volunteer at the Indiana School for the Blind, also a Research Advocate of the Arthritis Foundation. For many years she played tennis, golf, and bridge at Meridian Hills Country Club, and enjoyed time with Bob and family at Sailfish Point in Stuart, Florida. Avis was a devoted member at Second Presbyterian Church, including hours spent working in the original Food Pantry. She was also a member of the St. Vincent Foundation, having been very involved with the St. Vincent Hospice. Avis was preceded in death by her son, Scott, her husband Bob, and her mother and father, Elinor and Wellington Hummel. Those left to cherish her memory include, Douglas Skinner (Somluedee) of Portland, Oregon; daughter, Susanne Winchell (Dean) of Richland Center, WI; grandchildren, Bryan (Hannah Laura), Stephen, and Andrew Winchell, and Derek and Sadie Skinner; great-granddaughters, Clara and Vivian Winchell; and brother in law, Donald Skinner (Nancy) of Portland, Oregon. Our thanks to caregiver Tom Albrecht, who provided Avis the support and care necessary for her to live life in her own home to the end. Arrangements by Leppert Mortuary in Nora. The family is having a private memorial service, and burial at Crown Hill Mausoleum. In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to the Second Presbyterian Church Food Pantry, 7700 N. Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46260 or the Wheeler Mission, 205 E. New York St., Indianapolis, IN 46204.

To share a memory or condolence, please visit www.leppertmortuary.com.

Services

No public services are scheduled at this time. Receive a notification when services are updated.

Memories

Avis Hummel Skinner

have a memory or condolence to add?

ADD A MEMORY
Preston Breunig

July 29, 2020

Avis held a very special place in my heart. I have fond memories of her as my tennis partner in the 1970's. She was a dear sweet lady and a special friend.

Mary Jo Woodside

July 17, 2020

I was acquainted Avis for many years, but in the past year I have had the delightful opportunity to really get to know her. I so enjoyed our conversations and her knowledge of the Children’s Museum Guild and Meridian Hills. She was a lovely person who I am happy to have called friend. I am very sorry I will no longer have the opportunity to have dinner with her at our Monthly group dinners.
Tom, you were a blessing to her and always so kind and empowering to her.

Jim and Carleen Rose

July 16, 2020

Been a long time since we had contact. Enjoyed the monthly get together and Bridge. Blessings to you and your families.

Jim and Carleen Rose

Don & Joyce Brindle

July 16, 2020

We are deeply saddened by the sudden calling by God to bring Avis home. Although we only knew Avis for the last 10 years, we have developed an everlasting friendship. It all started when we volunteered in the Northside Food Pantry and had the distinct pleasure of working with Avis and her dear friend, Peggy O'Keefe, on the Thursday morning shift. Oh what good memories we have of our time in the pantry serving those in need. Our friendship continued to grow since we both attended the 8:15 am Sunday morning church service at Second Presbyterian Church. She was a wonderful person always being kind, gracious, proper and most generous. She was so looking forward to getting back to church and enjoying fellowship with all of us. We will miss her smiles and after our church chats. Our sincere condolences to the Avis Skinner Family. God Bless all of you. Don & Joyce

Joyce Nocton

July 16, 2020

Dear Suzy and Doug,
I was sorry to hear of your mother's passing. I have so many fond memories of her and all of your family. I saw her shortly before Christmas at our sister, Julie's, funeral and had a nice chat with her. I know my Mom is welcoming her home and happy to have one of her dearest friends join her. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.
Love and (virtual) hugs, Joyce Lorton Nocton

Judy Muirhead

July 16, 2020

Avis was one of the nicest and most thoughtful ladies I've had the pleasure of knowing. And, that Sweet Smile, we'll all miss that! To you children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren that she leaves behind, she Adored each of you. Thanks, too, to Tom for making these last years so pleasurable for her as you enabled Avis to maintain her social activities. Such a GOOD CHRISTIAN - and she will be missed. Judy Muirhead

FROM THE FAMILY
FROM THE FAMILY

Learn more about the Skinner name

VISIT ANCESTRY.COM